Minnesota DWI Penalties
One major difference between Minnesota DWI/DUI laws and the DWI laws in other states is that the DWI laws in Minnesota allow an individual to speak to a criminal defense attorney prior to taking a chemical test to establish alcohol content. This article will provide information regarding DUI and DWI laws. In addition to that, it will also help you understand the different degrees of DWI charges.
Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws: The Four Levels of DWI Charges
First Degree DWI: According to the Minnesota drunk driving laws, a first degree DWI charge is a felony level offense. One will be charged with a First Degree Felony DWI if he has three or more prior qualified alcohol-related incidents within the past ten years. Prior qualified alcohol-related incidents include a prior DWI conviction or prior alcohol-related loss of license from Minnesota or another state with comparable laws. A Minnesota DWI Lawyer can help you with your case.
A first degree DWI offense can lead to imprisonment of up to 7 years and a fine of up to $14,000, or both.
Second Degree DWI: A second degree DWI is an offense which is punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $3000. The presence of two or more of the following aggravating factors can lead to a second degree DWI charge:
1) An impaired driving incident, such as an alcohol-related license revocation or DWI conviction, within 10 years of the present incident.
2) The presence of a child in the motor vehicle.
3) Blood alcohol content of .20 or greater as tested within two hours of the incident.
4) Refusal to submit to chemical testing.
In addition to the criminal penalties, a second degree DWI offense can lead to the confiscation of the license plates and forfeiture of the vehicle involved.
Third Degree DWI: A third degree DWI offense is charged if one of the aforementioned aggravating factors is present. The maximum criminal penalty is the same as in second degree DWI charges, however the vehicle cannot be forfeited.
Fourth Degree DWI: A fourth degree DWI is charged in the absence of aggravating factors. The driver charged with this offense agreed to comply with chemical testing and the result was less than .20. A fourth degree DWI is classified as a misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1000 fine.
If you or any of your loved ones have been arrested for DUI or DWI, you need to find a solution as soon as possible by contacting a committed DWI attorney in your area.Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm is one of the most dedicated law firms in the state of Minnesota. Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm is committed towards providing clients with the required support and legal expertise, which in turn results in the best possible results for their clients.
DWI Penalties and Laws in the State of Minnesota are very stringent and it is in your best interest to contact a reputed law firm, who can help you protect your driver’s license and criminal record. It is highly recommended that you contact a Minneapolis Defense Lawyer at Caplan & Tamburino Law Firm immediately after your arrest to protect your interests and speak with an experienced Minnesota DWI Lawyer.